Early Years

In our Early Years Foundation Stage (1-5 years) four guiding principles shape our practice:

  1. Unique child – every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  2. Positive Relationships – children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  3. Enabling Environment – children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between teachers and parents and/or carers.
  4. Develop and learn in different ways – children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

Learning and development is divided into 7 areas.

Prime Areas of Learning:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Specific Areas of Learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

We follow the children’s interests when planning for each group of children and recognize the importance of involving the children in choosing activities and resources. Child-initiated learning is an important part of our daily routine and whenever possible adult–directed activities are play-based, active and related to the children’s interests. All areas of learning are given equal emphasis and are interrelated. We aim to help children with their learning through observing, getting involved in their play, supporting their thinking and asking open questions.